To Shave or Not To Shave? Yep. That’s the Question.

28 Oct

Usually my posts are just to be read and enjoyed. I delight over Reader Comments, but it’s ok with me if you just read and laugh and go on your merry way. Today, I’m wanting feedback. Every opinion counts. Also, let’s all keep in mind that each opinion is valid based on the fact that it belongs to someone and they are entitled. No fighting on Luli’s blog. The end.

Soooooooo. . . Here’s my opinion: manscaping/male grooming is absolutely a must BUT can certainly go way too far. My own personal feelings about the subject apply to all males across the board, whether gay or straight, and regardless of profession (barring athletes that must full body scape for speed/whatev reasons). I suspect many people will have different categories and degree of acceptability – maybe by profession – who knows?! Why am I curious? I’m not even sure, but I do find it to be an interesting topic. Am I strange? I think, probably, yes. Do I care? No, not at all.

So here are my very own OPINIONS on the subject and then I would like to hear yours in the comment section. I repeat: Post your very own opinion in the comment section. Ok. Let’s begin.

I do not prefer a shaved male leg at all. A shaved male chest is perfectly fine. A shaved male back seems mandatory if hair beyond a reasonable doubt exists. The nether regions seem a given to me, and I see no reason to discuss them except to say that the area should be well kept and there should be no hidey holes for dingleberries to establish themselves. Let’s take it back up to the face. Eyebrows should be neat and tidy but NOT sculpted. Unibrows are for Bert and Ernie. A unibrow is NEVER acceptable. Facial scruff is personally very manly and appealing to me but def depends on the particular man and his hair growth patterns and aversion to hairy face itch/aversion to shaver’s itch. Should a hair begin to grow in one’s ear, it should be promptly plucked and then a reminder should immediately be set on one’s iPhone for a once-a-week ear hair check. Ear hair is not allowed. Arm hair, for me, is a free for all. I can take it or leave it. Hand hair, however, is tricky. Lots of hand hair, I feel, is slightly boorish and should be groomed just for the simple fact that I, personally, am probably going to talk to your hand hair all evening if its staring at me and shouting my name. The end. If I forgot an area, call me out in the comments section and I will promptly spew my personal opinion out for you to relish.

Love,
Luli

24 Responses to “To Shave or Not To Shave? Yep. That’s the Question.”

  1. Julie October 28, 2012 at 7:12 am #

    You are CRACKING ME UP.
    My thoughts: totally agree with all you have stated. I can’t however believe that you would leave out NOSE HAIR. If you stated it, my apologies. But nose hair, no matter if its growing like a limb out of the nostril or maybe little hairs on top.. KEEP THAT STUFF GROOMED. They don’t make nose and ear hair trimmers to just sit on the shelves. Ear and nose hair trimming are mandatory.
    I have one more…. If a man is going to have short hair in the back… Keep the neck hair shaved so it doesn’t connect to be “one” with the back hair. Not a fan of the uni-neck/back hair. Lol. And not a fan of back hair.
    And just to say…. I do love me some scruff on the face. If its well kept and especially if it has lots of gray… šŸ™‚

    • loveluli October 28, 2012 at 7:16 am #

      EXCELLENT response!!! You are correct in that I failed to mention nose hair!! Could NOT agree more. The nose hair trimmer should go ALL THE WAY INSIDE the nose. No hair should EVER peek out to say hi. Ever.

    • Julie October 31, 2012 at 9:11 pm #

      I say agree and I like to especially agree to no neck beard. Laser hair remove is rock star!

      • loveluli November 1, 2012 at 6:44 am #

        Girl, YES. Love me some laser hair removal!!!!!

  2. Jantie October 28, 2012 at 8:49 am #

    Agreed on all points except the leg hair. I enjoy Chad’s shaved legs. However, I certainly do not mind them a tad hairy,either. There is a point when a man’s leg is too hairy for me. Julie, you have an excellent point in the neck hair. I can’t stand an that scraggly section of unkept hair on the back of the neck. Unacceptable.

  3. Keri October 28, 2012 at 9:58 am #

    I completely agree with you on all points. You really hit the nail on the head. Although I do have to admit that since it’s not my body I should be able to deal with whatever you do…but being well-groomed is a must and your hygiene must be up to par.

    On a side note, I’ve done things in my line of work that are required of me and I’m not going into details for fear of grossing someone out but my job as a mortician does occasionally require me to shave a womans mustache or trim nose hair – and the older someone gets, the worse it becomes, trust me! And don’t forget that I’ll be the one who gets to see how well you took care of your legs or any other area for that matter. Enjoy that image.

    • loveluli October 28, 2012 at 2:27 pm #

      Keri!!!! Lol!!!!! Love you, girl!!

  4. Annissa Edwards October 28, 2012 at 12:43 pm #

    Me personally, I like a man with hair on his body but Chewbacca hairy I draw the line! Same goes for hairy palms:/. Btw, I LOVE reading your posts and I must say, God has blessed you with an extremely good sense of humor:). As always, I can’t wait to see what you’ve posted!

    • loveluli October 28, 2012 at 2:27 pm #

      Thanks Annissa!!

      • Sherri October 28, 2012 at 6:18 pm #

        After reading the title to this I thought you would be talking about females, now that the weather is colder and we’ve put up the shorts, should we shave or not shave our legs. So on that subject I always look forward to not shaving my legs šŸ™‚ Maybe that can be your next blog?

  5. Amanda October 29, 2012 at 12:50 pm #

    Agree with the post and the comments! It’s only fair.

    I did date a guy who shared with me that he regularly shaved his entire body, and his mom helped with the parts he couldn’t reach. That’s taking it too far (and the end of the dating).

    On another note, one guy i know only shaves the top half of his chest, the top half. That’s just creepy.

    As for legs, I’m indifferent.

  6. Hester October 29, 2012 at 12:50 pm #

    Personal hygiene is a topic that I say, “To each his/her own” but preference for clean and clean shaven places seen by the general public is good. As I get older, these places take less maintenance, i.e. legs (advice to the young) and therefore considered a “god-send” to not fret over. I am old!

  7. Brittani Cox October 29, 2012 at 12:51 pm #

    Don’t forget toe hair, bleck!I hate a big toe bush! I’ll shave it in your sleep!

  8. Brittani Cox October 29, 2012 at 12:52 pm #

    Don’t forget toe hair, bleck!I hate a big toe bush! I’ll shave it in your sleep! You’re welcome.

    • loveluli October 29, 2012 at 2:02 pm #

      Shave it, Brit! Don’t play around with that toe bush.

  9. Janie October 29, 2012 at 1:08 pm #

    Ditto!! I agree totally! Back hair is a turn off and has to go, facial hair ok as long as it is maintained, legs need not be shaved, arm pits not necessary, eye brows need to be a pair not one!! Personal areas should be left up to the person as long as it is clean!!! Arm and hand hair is for gorilla’s kept it maintained! Just my opinion! Nose hair and ear hair I don’t want to see it so please trim it!

    • loveluli October 29, 2012 at 2:09 pm #

      Lol, Janie!! Keep Uncle Bruce groomed!!

  10. Laura October 30, 2012 at 7:35 am #

    I read and didn’t comment. Oops! I don’t have an opinion. It is what it is. I’m gonna side with the bushy people. They were born that way. Try probably hate it and could shave EVERYTHING daily but it would take up half their life, so they just let it be and roll with it. ??? Boring, non funny commenter right here!

    • loveluli October 30, 2012 at 9:22 pm #

      You make a good point, L. Good point.

      • Laura October 30, 2012 at 9:42 pm #

        I mean, I can hardly keep up with my shaves. For real. Ask J. Sometimes, ain’t no body for time for dat.

        • Laura October 30, 2012 at 9:42 pm #

          ^GOT. Dang it.

          • loveluli October 30, 2012 at 11:10 pm #

            Ain’t nobody for time for dat.

  11. Tara Allison October 30, 2012 at 11:31 pm #

    Yeah I’m ALL for manscaping!!! My man doesn’t really grow much hair soooooo I guess I scored on that one!!! Now we are talking everything waist above and knees down trim it, cut it … Whatever…just get it off!!! Now mid section complete bare kinda freaks me OUT… #leavesomestubs & #intensehairtalk

Say something

