Don’t feel sorry for me. It’s lame.

9 Sep

Really and truly, the absolute worst part of having lupus, in my opinion, is/are (I think it’s “is” but I’m not positive and I really don’t care but I know my mother-in-law will be reading this with her proofreading brain and the run-on sentences and sentence fragments already drive her nuts so I want her to know that I am aware of the grammatically erroneous situation I just can’t help it because I have the lupus and it makes me not able to care about my writing skills anymore, amen, it’s a real lupus symptom, I swear) the periods of extreme fatigue.  It is SUCH a frustrating symptom because I don’t usually “look sick” so people tend to think I’m lazy, a drama queen, a spoiled brat, or I just don’t like to work.  Ok sooooooo, all of those things are true, but still, the fatigue is so frustrating.  I totally get why outsiders think that it’s ridic because half of the time it’s a struggle for me to correct the conversation in my own brain about the ignorance of a 35-yr-old gal being too exhausted to “live life” properly.  The truth is, though, that the fatigue can become so overwhelming that the only option is to rest.  Like in the middle of the day, LAY DOWN and close your eyes for long periods.  Maybe even twice a day.  I know.  Weird.  And extremely annoying.  Guess what, though, it is what it freaking is.  I’ve tried the “push through it” theory many times.  It never really works for me.  So, I just try to obey the body even though it pisses me off so badly.  ANY OLD HOO, all that to say that I got sucked into the abyss of extreme fatigue about a week and half ago and that hooch will not let me go.  Dad gum.  Hate her.  Have I been resting, you ask?  Not really.  So, yeah, I’m gonna get right on that THIS weekend.  I mean it.  Seriously, Casey has banished me to rest-ville.  Ugh.  So boring.  Soooooooo, that’s what I’m doing this weekend.  Resting.  With Owen and Stella.  And Winnie, who is getting so old that he forgets where he is and just poops in the house.  Like the other day he just looked at me right in the face as he pookied and then walked off like he wasn’t even ashamed of himself.  I couldn’t even get mad.  It was that sad.  He’s an old, house-pookie-ing geezer, that Winnie dog.

It’s pathetic, really.  My kids just know to watch out for “tootsie rolls” near the doorways now.  Ugh.  Poor Winnie.  Crazy thang.  BTW, I bought his halloween costume today.  Superman.  It’s awesome.  Owen and I laughed our fool heads off over it.  Shoot.

Seriously, though.  I have one more thing to show you before I sign off for the day and go rest.  We saw this crazy turtle in the aquatic exhibit at the zoo.  I like to call it “Peenie-necked turtle”.

LOL!!!!  Oh my gosh, y’all.  That is funny.  I don’t care who ya are.  And with that, I bid you adieu.

Love, Luli

4 Responses to “Don’t feel sorry for me. It’s lame.”

  1. Allison O. September 10, 2011 at 12:03 am #

    Girl, I can barely read your posts without seriously belly-aching laughter. Who on earth can make another person laugh when the topic is lupus? Who are you? I’m dying over the words pookie and tootsie roll right now. Your HA-larious! Go to bed!

  2. jennifer white September 10, 2011 at 7:00 am #

    I’m loving your outlook. Really. Thank you for making us laugh through your pain. I know it can’t be easy and I am sorry (even if it’s lame) that you have to go through this. Where is the superman picture? Really, we’ve got to see that one!

  3. Seasie September 10, 2011 at 3:21 pm #

    Oh, Lula. I shan’t tell Bitta that her betrothed has become incontinent. Bless his pea-picking heart. We shall find Bitta a wonder-woman costume at once. They shall be a Wonder-pets pair. Or shall she be Lois Lane? We shall see. I love your hilarious/bizarre brain that finds Peenie-headed turtles at the zoo. HAHAHA!!! So glad Dr. Gerber is ordering rest for you. Enjoy your presh babes, hubby and geezer-dog. Much love.

  4. Julie September 10, 2011 at 7:55 pm #

    That Dr Gerber better be making you rest or ELSE. take care of you, sister. Lupus sucks.
    Peenie turtle. Omg
    Poor Wendell. Tootsie Rolls…I’m sad for him but cannot wait to see his costume.

    I love ya. You are an amazing, strong woman. Keep on fighting. You can do this.

Say something

