Neck sniffers

28 Aug

When my kids hug me, they obsessively sniff my neck over and over.  Is that weird?

It’s been a lovely end to a crazy week.  I had a girls’ day out on Friday with my bestie, Julie.  We had a delightful midday snack at Cuppies and Joe, did some shopping at the new outlet mall, ate dinner at Chelinos in bricktown (which, by the way, has gone downhill), and saw The Help.  Yes, Julie was still recovering frrom strepthroat and I was tired from the sleepless nights with baby pteradactyl but, folks, this was a kid-free, husband-free day and we cherished every single second. 

As far as the outlet goes, I’m thinking the Banana Republic store gets the most stars.  It had the most quality stuff with the best prices.  I love me some Lucca but I’m just gonna tell you like it is:  that was no outlet.  High prices, same as always.  The boy running the register was hilarious, though.  In fact, I think he and I could share clothes and jewelry.  We pretty much had the same taste.  Well, except for the bronzer.  He had quite a bit of bronzer on.  And I’m not sure I could pull off the low cut all the way to your bellybutton shirt.  I did buy a matching bracelet to his, though.  Fun times.  Anyway, enough about that.

I took a pic of Julie in her favorite store.  That’s right, folks.  Goldtoe.  She bought her hubby some rad goldtoe socks.  Ummm, are we geezers?  Yes, we are.  So?

We were so exhausted from our shopping adventure that we had to eat dinner at straight up five o’clock.  Pathetic.  We originally chose Zios but when we walked in the door, a solid wall of poop cloud smacked us right in the face.  Seriously.  Grossest raw sewage smell ever!  They snatched us up and seated us before we could clear our heads of the dizzying smell, so Julie had to make a fake phone call and then tell our waiter that our friend had called and we had accidentally gone to the wrong restaurant.  Pause.  You’re probably wondering why two grown women felt the need to make a fake phone call?  I mean, why didn’t we just say, “Mr. Waiter, your restaurant smells like pookie and we don’t want to eat here.”  I don’t know.  We were panicked, ok?  The smell made us do things we wouldn’t normally do.  Weird.  It is what it is.  We ended up at Chelinos and it was kinda gross.  Just sayin’.  Again, it is what it is.

The Help was so fantastic.  Loved it.  I was skeptical because, of course, I had already read the book.  Seriously, though, I think it was the best book turned movie that I’ve ever seen.  Two thumbs up.  Five stars.  Go see it.

Here’s a pic of two bestie geezers that had to put their glasses on to watch the movie.  Pathetic.  Old.  Awesome.

Casey and the kids had gone to Weatherford to participate in a family garage sale, so Winnie and I had the house to ourselves Friday night.  Strange.  Spooky.  Kinda divine. 

Saturday morning I got up and headed to Mardel to pick up some final supplies I needed for homeschooling. . . because we start tomorrow. . . OMG!!!!!!!!  After a small panic attack on the Math row and having to go Number 2 in the Mardel restroom,  I finally regained my composure and found what I needed.  Thank the Lord!!!  We’re ready now.  Kinda.  I don’t know what I’m doing and my kids are going to be ignorant.  Oh no, oh no, oh no, oh no. . . .

I’ve got nothing else to say because I need to go look at my Spelling book and read my bible story lesson for the 49th time.

“Good morning, class.  My name is Mommy.  Let me call roll.  Owen Gerber?  Here.  Um, okay then.  We’re all here.  Let’s begin, shall we? 

Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!

Love, Luli

7 Responses to “Neck sniffers”

  1. Laura August 28, 2011 at 6:19 pm #

    O. M. G!!!! I am giggling so hard and so loud right now!!! Your roll call!!! Aaahahahahahaha. Every single blog has been so beyond hilarious, but that little tidbit has my belly aching and nostrils flaring. Ah! Love it!!!

    “Um, okay then. We’re all here.”. Baahahahahahaha

  2. jennifer white August 28, 2011 at 8:50 pm #

    The Help is so so so good. I had read it too! Want to see it again and take the hubby.

  3. Midge August 28, 2011 at 8:51 pm #

    What time does school start? Do you say the flag salute and recite the Lord’s Prayer or is that against the law in your school? When is recess? What’s for lunch in the cafeteria? Do you have lockers? Who’s Owen’s locker buddy? Do kindergarten kids get a snack during the day or have a rest time? What time is school out? Inquiring minds want to know. You are going to have so much fun and learn so much (all three of you–you know Stella will be trying to do EVERYTHING Owen does).

    BTW, when is grandparent’s day at school?

  4. Julie August 28, 2011 at 9:43 pm #

    Goldtoe store gets 5 stars. Lol. GEEZ. you totally snuck that pic.
    What a delightful day despite the sewage smell and crappy Chelinos. Blech. ANNNDDDDD… how in the world could you forget the worst Sonic drive thru EVER?!
    I was so happy to be out of sickville and on the mend. Thanks my bestie for a wonderful break!

    And you Mrs.Gerber will be a great teacher. That Owen is one smart dude already.

  5. Gare August 29, 2011 at 1:37 pm #

    Grandparents Lunch is next Friday September 16. Please no home made food items. All food must come with the labels in the pre packaged container. That’s all I’m saying. Good luck.

  6. Nicole August 30, 2011 at 1:16 am #

    The fake phone call is hilarious….thanks again for a post that made me laugh. you are going to be a great teacher!

  7. Sarah September 6, 2011 at 10:00 pm #

    I’m sure you’ll be a great teacher, I’ve learned so much from you already! 🙂

Say something

