“Friends come and friends go, but a true friend sticks by you like family,” Proverbs 18:24

28 Jul

Today was family swim day with my fam and my two besties and their fams!!  Oh man.  I love me some Julie and Season time.  Woot!!  Folks, the three of us have been BFF since before bag cell phones were invented.  HAHAHAHA!  Remember those things?!?!?!?! 

Julie’s dad made her have one in her car and we could NEVER use it unless it was an extreme emergency because a 30 second call cost $555.  LOL.  One time a girl in our senior class side-swiped Julie’s car and we used it to call 911.  For real.  911.  No one was hurt.  Yet, we felt the need to call 911 from the bag phone.  Awesome.  Those were the days.  But enough about the old days.  I gotta stay focused.  It’s 12:12 am.  Ridic.  Swim day was held at the home of two of my favorite peeps, Charlie and Shirley Smith (Season’s parents).  They’ve seen me through lots of years and I love them dearly.  Woot!  Everyone that loves Charlie and Shirley Smith MUST leave them a shout out as a comment!!!  Seriously.  Do it.  Stella felt the Nanny love from Shirl and took to her immediately.  Here they are goggling.  Stella made Shirl put her face in the water and you KNOW Shirl did it.  Nanny love.

OMG.  Is this the cutest picture or WHAT?!?!?!?!  Makes me giggle. 

Honestly, folks, we were having such a good time chatting and watching the kids play that my pictoral documentation of the day is extremely lacking.  Crap.  JBelle gathered up all the kids, though, and took a group pic. 

Look at those little angels.  I could just squeeze ’em and bite ’em.  They’re that scrumptious!  Doll babies.  The whole lot of ’em.

After about an hour, the Em-ster got too dang wild and had to leave the party.  She felt annoyed about it.

HAHA!  Look at her wrinkled butt!  And don’t go winding up the rumor mill.  Julie is NOT naked.  You people just love to start drama, don’t you?  For Pete’s sake.  (Sorry, Pete.)

We ended the day with a cookout at the Riggins’ new house.  You’ve gotta try the vegan cupcakes that I baked and brought for dessert.  The recipe came from Chef Chloe’s website (see link).  Delish!

It was such a lovely day and at 12:46 am, I’m ready to bring it to a close.  Until tomorrow. . . or, I guess, until tonight.  Oh, whatever.

Love, Luli

5 Responses to ““Friends come and friends go, but a true friend sticks by you like family,” Proverbs 18:24”

  1. Tara July 28, 2011 at 4:20 am #

    It’s a good one!!!! Keep em comin;-)

  2. Sarah sutton July 28, 2011 at 4:32 am #

    Shirley beats the pants off me in words for friends but I still love her!!!

  3. Julie July 28, 2011 at 7:12 am #

    Haaah!!!!! Bag phones!!!! That made me laugh out loud at 7am. I remember my dad threatening us to not even plug the dang thang into the lighter unless we were in a wreck. But remember when we took the old corvette out and the el Reno police were talking about us and my dad heard it on the scanner??? We peeled out and ramped the curb at Sonic. Lol!! WHY on earth did he let us take that cruising? He was so brave!
    So a MAJOR shout out to the Smith’s! I LOVE those 2 so much! Too many stories to write but…Hush it up, Shirl!!
    I’m writing too much…. I love the pic of the kids!! And what in the world???? I really dod have a swimsuit on folks. Promise. Haha. Love ya, CBelle and Seas!!!! For life.

  4. corrie July 28, 2011 at 9:51 am #

    Man, that’s a gorgeous pool. LOVE the group shot. Ashley (Langley)’s dad also had a bag phone, as I recall, and we were only allowed to make pretend calls, which was still amazing — making fake phone calls from the CAR.

  5. CourtCourt July 28, 2011 at 11:12 pm #

    Speaking of bag phones…I was lame enough to pretend talk on ours when I passed this cute guy on Main Street! So cool! I know!

Say something

