What a lovely evening for a campus stroll. . .

26 Jul

Oh my word, homies. What started as an ordinary trip to the OBU campus to place Pippa Sippa’s gravestone (refer to bird funeral, July 22, 2011, Hi. blog post) turned into a crazy Gerber adventure. You never know when the spirit will hit, folks, you just never know.

After I got off work, we decided to eat dinner at Owen’s favorite restaurant in Shawnee, Abuelita Rosa’s, which just happens to be the family restaurant of one of my pharmacy techs, Mrs. Sarah Escobedo. Love her! As we were getting into the car to head that way, I remembered that we needed to place Pippa’s gravestone that’s been sitting on the kitchen counter for weeks annoying the crap right out of my husband. I ran inside and grabbed it and away we went.

Here’s what I had to look at during dinner. It wasn’t easy for this cheese-lovin’ vegan.

LORD HAVE MERCY!!

The placing of the gravestone went as expected – meaning we got out of the car, found the spot where we buried her and set the rock down on top of it. No frills. Not tonight.

**Side note: If you are ever on the OBU campus and would like to pay respects to Pippa Sippa, she is located in the oval across from WMU just north of the golden bison.

We were about to turn around and go back to the car when my darling Owen said, “Hey, let’s go over to the fountain by daddy’s office building.” So we did.

On the way, we saw the painted bison. I rode it.

Then the kids wanted to ride it, too.

We finally made it to the fountain. The kids wanted to get in it. Who am I to judge?

But then Stella slipped on the 34 layers of goo on the fountain floor and scraped her knee.

She said we needed to go home immediately and get her some “Hi-Nay-No” (Tylenol.) So we swiftly exited the fountain and headed back to the ‘ol forerunner where we put our little fountain swimmers into their car seats and headed home.

The evening wound down as usual with bath, book and bed. Just a regular night in the Gerber household. Sleep tight, homies.

Love, Luli

7 Responses to “What a lovely evening for a campus stroll. . .”

  1. Angela July 26, 2011 at 10:31 pm #

    I absolutely LOVE that you make everything in life fun…even the placing of a bird headstone. Thanks for the smiles and inspiration!!

  2. Tamara July 26, 2011 at 10:36 pm #

    You have some of the happiest kiddos I have ever seen.

  3. Barbara July 27, 2011 at 1:10 am #

    Keep on rolling……I’m loving the vicarious ride.

  4. Julie July 27, 2011 at 8:14 am #

    I MUST visit Pippa Sippas grave next time I am on campus.

  5. Karen July 27, 2011 at 11:14 am #

    Where was campus security when you needed them?!? (just kidding!)

    Christa, I have to say I look forward each day to the happenings in your life. Keep on keeping on!

  6. Jantie July 27, 2011 at 12:40 pm #

    Pippa Sippa. She was a good bird.

  7. Sarah July 29, 2011 at 12:38 am #

    I love you too! (I’m excited about my shout out!) 🙂

Say something

