Word to your mom

24 Jul

Today is a shout out type of day.  I love a good shout out so let’s not dilly-dally.

My first shout out goes to Miss Addison Wade Cox, TEENAGE daughter of my sister from another mister and homie for life, Season Elise Smith Cox.  Addie shall be held responsible for my nickname and the namesake of this blog:  Lula aka Luli.  She named me Lula when she was a wee two-year-old tot and now she is THIRTEEN!  She’s an adorable darling doll baby and I LOVE her!!  Thanks for the nickname, Addie!!  Did you know that when you were tiny I got in trouble for telling you that Dr. Pepper was really called “Dr. Peener?”  Yep, your mom made me change it to “Dr. Pepper Peanut” so you wouldn’t go around saying “peener” all the time.  Oops.  Sorry about that one, Seas.

Shout out number two goes to my sister, Janna Lady Humphrey’s bff, Laura Fay Ashcraft.  She thought of my blog name, loveluli.  I LOVE it!  Thank you, Mrs. Ashcraft!!  You are quite simply divine!!

The final shout of the day goes to my bestie sister-friend, Julie Renee Olson Riggins – owner and sole proprietor of JBelle Photography.  She’s a genius, folks.  For all of your photo needs, please check out her website http://www.jbellephotography.com.  She recently moved to Edmond from Dallas, so all you OKC homies are in LUCK!  Woot!  For real!  She did a photo shoot with me for this blog which really means I brought a bunch of shoes and hats and we drove all around El Reno jumping out of the car and taking pics in random places while she told me how to pose and I was my normal awkward model self so we laughed and I peed my pants a little and one out of every four pics turned out gorgeous because of her skill and the other 454,000 were of me laughing or looking dorky.  Side note: if run-on sentences are a pet peeve of yours then please un-subscribe from this blog right now because I like them and it’s my blog and I can do whatever I want. Anyway, when Jbelle’s graphic design hubs has a breather, we’ll transform the look of this blog and use some of the pics but until then, here’s a preview:

Examples of what happens when Julie leaves me to come up with my own poses:

So bad.  I know.

Here are some examples of Julie trying to get me to look cool and me trying not to smirk:

Folks, these are the “good” ones.  Poor Julie.  I gave her hell.  She finally decided it would be best not to include my face.

See how cooperative my feet are!!!

Owen came with us to do a little posing for my future homeschooling blog section.  He’s a natural.  Takes after his dad, who once did a tv commercial for OPI nail polish.  HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!  No joke!!

Oh man, he’s a cutie, that Owen Bryce Gerber.

I love the ones she took of some bottles from my antique pharmacy collection.  Cool.

This is how we felt at the end of the 2-hour photo shoot in 100 degree heat:

And this, folks, is my darling-dear-love-of-my-life-bff-sister-friend-photog-extraordinaire, Julie.  Photo by Owen:

OMG, I really love her so much.

Love, Luli


18 Responses to “Word to your mom”

  1. Laura Ashcraft July 24, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

    Gasp! What a lovely surprise to get a shout out! I am so very thankful that I have a BFF so grand I can’t stand it, and that she happens to have a way cool sister with a blog I LOVE. I re-read your posts, laugh and smile again, and though I don’t pee my pants as often as you and your sis, I do get super excited when I see you’ve blogged.

    I love loveluli!!!!

    Ps. I LOVE the pics. Even the awkward poses. They fit your personality!

  2. Seasie July 24, 2011 at 7:22 pm #

    Dr. Penner!!!! Hahahahaha!!!! I am officially stalking your blog. I check it every time I get on the computer!!! Love loveluli….and love the shout out! Btw…my fav pics are the ones Julie left for you to make up!!!!! So hilariously YOU!!! 🙂

    • loveluli July 24, 2011 at 10:12 pm #

      Do you remember that, Season? SO funny. She kept saying, “dr. peener, dr. peener” and you looked at me with that crazy face like, “seriously, Christa?!?!” so I started repeating dr. pepper peanut over and over until it reset her tiny brain. LOL!!!!!!!!! Tiny baby girl! Thirteen now!!!!!!!

    • julie July 25, 2011 at 3:59 pm #

      Seas! My fav ones were those too! she was being her authentic self so those were the best!

  3. addie July 24, 2011 at 7:27 pm #

    Awww!! Love you 2! And no, i never heard that story before. hmmm..;) and you are very welcome mrs lula!! 🙂

  4. Linnea July 24, 2011 at 7:29 pm #

    Brilliant. Beautiful. I flippin’ love your blog. That is all. Wait…I also love a good run-on sentence.

  5. Sarah Sutton July 24, 2011 at 8:22 pm #

    duhhhhh………how does one subscribe?

  6. Sarah Sutton July 24, 2011 at 8:29 pm #

    ok….must have figured it out – got an “official” e-mail………great job, christa! writing is the best thing you can do for your children! they’ll love this when they grow up!

    • loveluli July 24, 2011 at 10:01 pm #

      Sarah! How did you do it? I don’t even know how to work my own blog yet! Ghetto.

  7. Casey July 24, 2011 at 10:15 pm #

    Nice work, babe. Love you.

  8. Julie July 24, 2011 at 10:22 pm #

    Hands down, the most fun I’ve ever had on a shoot. But then again, we could be sitting in an airport and have a blast, huh? We are trouble. Plain and simple. I love ya my sister. For life. And you are rockin this blog thing….

    • loveluli July 24, 2011 at 10:28 pm #

      In fact we HAVE had a blast in the airport! I was thinking about it earlier when I was typing today’s post – brace yourself – we’ve been BFF for TWENTY YEARS. 1991 to 2011. L.O.L. How can that even be possible?!?!? LOVE YOU FOR LIFE.

      • Julie July 25, 2011 at 6:52 am #

        20 YEARS!!!! and Cheers to 60 more!! Woot!!! We’ll still be laughing…..

  9. Alisa July 25, 2011 at 9:16 pm #

    Christa, yours is officially my new favorite blog! I shall subscribe and read every day. : )

  10. Rachelle July 25, 2011 at 10:30 pm #

    How do both of you still look so young and beautiful? Gorgeous! Seriously, you are beautiful!

  11. Jeremy Johnson July 26, 2011 at 11:20 am #

    LOVE IT> WORD TO YOUR MOM! #BOOM

  12. Laura July 27, 2011 at 7:48 am #

    re-reading all your posts. that’s how much i love it. also, the pics of you — can i borrow your skinny legs? thanks.

Say something

