Happy Birthday, Mr. Wendell

23 Jul

Today was our chihuahua’s birthday – Mr. Wendell (aka Winnie).

He’s 70 in dog years and a cute old geezer.  We celebrated with homemade vegan pizza and chocolate vegan cupcakes.  Delish.  For real. 

Why vegan?  Well, funny you should ask cause I’m about to tell you anyway.  So. . . I’ve got the lupus, see, and I’m sick of taking awful medications, see, so I became obsessed with using nutrition to treat disease, see, which led us to a 12-week vegan trial.  Self-run clinical trial at that.  Yep.  I made an appointment with my general practicioner (who is awesome and I LOVE) because my rheumatologist was NOT so receptive to my self-healing shenanigans.  I told him the plan, he said “cool”, drew a bunch of blood, and away we went.  Easy peasy japanesey.  We just completed week four.  CRA-ZY at first but getting much easier every day.  And, honestly, my poop is simply divine.  Ever heard Dr. Oz talk about the S-shaped poop?  Well, guess who has two thumbs and S-shaped poops SEVERAL times a day?  This girl.  It’s truly amazing.  I swear to you.  It’s impressive.  No more floaters.  It’s gorgeous snakes – smooth as a baby’s behind – for me.  Of course I haven’t lost a single pound as opposed to Casey’s 14 pound weight loss at tonight’s weigh in.  Annoying.  BUT I’m completely off one of my meds (cellcept for all of my pharmacist peeps out there) and I’ve cut my other medication’s dose in half (plaquenil for my pharms).  Isn’t that RAD?!?!?!  Ya-freakin-HOOO!  Woot!  Vegans rule!

P.S.  If you read this post, leave a comment.  It’s the right thing to do.  I don’t care if you say “toot face.”  Just say something.  It gives me the will to carry on. . . .

Love, Luli

39 Responses to “Happy Birthday, Mr. Wendell”

  1. Shouna Loyall Brown July 23, 2011 at 4:28 am #

    Love it!! Keep going girl! You always bring a smile to my face! Thanks for that.

    • loveluli July 23, 2011 at 5:07 am #

      Thanks, Shouna! So sweet!!

  2. run0fthemills July 23, 2011 at 4:31 am #

    First!!

    That’s what all the cool kids say when they (by some miracle) make the first comment on a very popular blog.

    Toot face.

    That’s what none of the cool kids say. 😉

    • loveluli July 23, 2011 at 5:06 am #

      Someday maybe I’ll have a “very popular blog.” How fun would that be?!?!?!?

  3. Julie July 23, 2011 at 4:47 am #

    I love Mr. Wendell. Happy bday to you mr shaky.
    I just love you my sister. You r rockin the vegan. So proud of you. Keep on ruggin. I mean truckin.

    • loveluli July 23, 2011 at 5:04 am #

      Keep on RUGGIN’!!!!!!!!!

      • loveluli July 23, 2011 at 8:24 pm #

        Mr. Shaky. LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. Alanna July 23, 2011 at 12:25 pm #

    GO Ahead Mr. Wendall! Love this! and Love you!!!

    • Alanna July 23, 2011 at 12:27 pm #

      Wendell, not Wendall.. Sheesh!

    • loveluli July 23, 2011 at 2:27 pm #

      Love you, Lanners!

  5. jennifer white July 23, 2011 at 1:05 pm #

    LOVE IT!! I can’t wait for more! Sorry about the pits. Let me know if it’s worth.

    • loveluli July 23, 2011 at 2:18 pm #

      The jury is still out, girl.

  6. Rona July 23, 2011 at 2:00 pm #

    Happy birthday to my college boyfriend..Winnie! Proud of your vegan self and you getting off nasty meds! Love ya sister! Keep them coming!

  7. Katie July 23, 2011 at 2:08 pm #

    I’m very new to the commenting on a blog scene. As in this is my first time.

    But I never knew that Winnie’s name is really Mr. Wendell.

  8. Jantie July 23, 2011 at 2:26 pm #

    S-shaped poop. You go sister. Happy birthday to Mr. Wendell.

  9. Janna July 23, 2011 at 2:50 pm #

    Love your blog! I couldn’t think of anyone better to write a blog! Love your crazy self!

    “It’s gorgeous snakes – smooth as a baby’s behind…” Hysterical!

    • loveluli July 23, 2011 at 10:53 pm #

      For real, Janna Layne. It’s gorg!!

  10. Laura July 23, 2011 at 5:19 pm #

    Do you send your s-shaped beauties to Jantie via SMS? Mad props for stickin’ out the whole vegan thing. For real. Maybe blog that pizza recipe? Loveluli is off the chain. No one can be cool AND blog about their poop but you.

    • loveluli July 23, 2011 at 6:05 pm #

      Haha!!! I’ll send Janna my next beauty, girl!

  11. Lyneeta July 23, 2011 at 7:29 pm #

    Happy Birthday, Mr. Wendell!!

  12. Heather McAnear July 23, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

    Toot face. You seeerrrriiioouuusssly crack me up, girl! I’m gonna love your blog. 🙂 On a serious note, I had no idea you had lupus. Proud of you for being proactive about your health! And the potty report…just what I’d expect from you!!

    • loveluli July 23, 2011 at 8:21 pm #

      Heather! Coffee date soon! Homeschool counseling session needed!!

  13. corrie July 23, 2011 at 8:23 pm #

    I was going to leave a comment, but I have to go change a poopy diaper. It will be more cow patty than S-shaped, I imagine. I’m interested in your vegan experiment! Glad to read your blog, but sorry “A Lady on the Pharm” didn’t make the cut!

    • loveluli July 23, 2011 at 8:47 pm #

      Haha!!!!! I totally liked A Lady on the Pharm! Love, Luli makes me feel like Rev. Run, though, so ya know.

  14. Mary Ann Hutchison July 23, 2011 at 9:10 pm #

    Cool blog! You crack us up on fb. I’m always telling Dave your stories. Looking forward to reading more.

  15. Joshua July 23, 2011 at 9:35 pm #

    I had no idea about the Vegan thing, but I’m just so proud that all my closest friends are growing up to be the free-lovin’, open-minded, kick-ass hippies I knew they would be!!

    • loveluli July 23, 2011 at 10:37 pm #

      Thanks for never giving up on me, Joshua Meier! Your constant hippie example has made me who I am today and, quite frankly, I’m awesome.

  16. Annissa Edwards July 23, 2011 at 11:36 pm #

    Girl, I almost pee’d my pants reading this!!! You are such a funny blogger…PLEASE keep them coming:)

  17. Midge July 24, 2011 at 4:14 pm #

    Happy belated birthday to Winnie. And BTW, I thought everyone had “s” shaped poops since I do. Everybody is supposed to do what I do the way I do it, right????

    You make me laugh on the outside and smile on the inside daughter-in-law. Keep up the good work.

  18. artisantheory July 24, 2011 at 9:08 pm #

    I love it! I’m so thankful for loveluli!!! Now I’m off to read the next one. Thank you, Christa!

  19. artisantheory July 24, 2011 at 9:34 pm #

    By the way… Artisantheory is Jerry Bergin!

  20. allen"s July 24, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

    toot face…too funny.

  21. Rachelle July 25, 2011 at 10:25 pm #

    You have made my day!! I’ve already texted your site to some of my sweet friends and they are gonna love it as much as I do!! Keep ’em coming!!

  22. Adam M. July 26, 2011 at 11:15 pm #

    Here, Have a dollar. In fact, nah brotha man, here have two… Go ahead, Mr. Wendell. Love the blog

Say something

